Sport State of Origin: Laurie Daley explains how Billy Slater won Wally Lewis Medal

10:07  12 july  2018
10:07  12 july  2018 Source:

Joey's solution to Origin medal controversy

  Joey's solution to Origin medal controversy Andrew Johns has slammed State of Origin's "overcomplicated" Wally Lewis medal voting system, revealing his simplified alternative.The decision to award Queensland fullback Billy Slater the Wally Lewis medal for player of the series has been widely slammed given Slater played just two of the three games and he finished on the losing side.

Queensland full back Billy Slater won man of the match in the third game and was awarded the Wally Lewis Medal as Man of the Series in 2010. The 2010 State of Origin series was also the second televised program in Australia to be shot in 3D 1080i

The Wally Lewis Medal has been awarded to the Queensland player of the series in State of Origin from 1992 to 2003. 2006 Darren Lockyer. 2007 Cameron Smith. 2008 Billy Slater . 2009 Greg Inglis. 2010 Benji Marshall.

Video provided by Wide World of Sports

State of Origin judge Laurie Daley has detailed how Billy Slater’s controversial man-of-the-series award came about as fans continue to vent their anger.

Despite missing the first game of the series and playing in a losing team, the Queensland fullback still accumulated enough votes to collect the Wally Lewis medal - Origin’s highest individual honour.

Daley and fellow national selector Darren Lockyer – along with Australia coach Mal Meninga – are responsible for nominating both the player-of-the-series and man-of-the-match awards.

State of Origin: Laurie Daley slams critics for reaction to controversial Wally Lewis Medal decision

  State of Origin: Laurie Daley slams critics for reaction to controversial Wally Lewis Medal decision Laurie Daley has gone on the offensive over criticisms about Billy Slater being named the State of Origin player of the series.Laurie Daley probably thought the days of him explaining decisions based around State of Origin were long over.

A controversial 4-3-2-1 system employed by Mal Meninga, Darren Lockyer and Laurie Daley was used to award Billy Slater the Wally Lewis Medal as the official player of the series. For the methodology

2010: Wally Lewis Medal ( State of Origin ). 2011: Dally M Fullback of the Year. † Denotes years in which Slater won a State of Origin Series. ^ "Doctor John Trantalis Reveals How He Never Thought Billy Slater Would Play Rugby League Again".

Slater won both in his last game for Queensland despite Daly Cherry-Evans being the stand-out player in most people’s eyes.

Billy Slater on his lap of honour after Origin III. © AAP Image/Darren England Billy Slater on his lap of honour after Origin III. Speaking on Sky Sports Radio on Thursday, Daley explained: “The rules are that after every game, Mal Meninga, myself and Darren Lockyer put in 4-3-2-1.

“Four being the best player, three being the second best and so on.

“The player who accumulates the most points out of those three games – when you total them up at the end of the series – is the man of the series and the Wally Lewis medallist.

“And the guy that totals the most amount of points in that particular game wins man-of-the-match.

“Billy Slater won fairly under that system.”

Freddy: Why Billy shouldn't have won

  Freddy: Why Billy shouldn't have won New South Wales coach Brad Fittler has explained why he thought Billy Slater should not have won the Wally Lewis Medal in the 2018 State of Origin series.  The decision to award the retiring Slater the prestigious award came under fire following the completion of Game 3, after Slater played in just two of the three games in the series. Speaking on the NRL Sunday Footy Show, Fittler pointed to Slater's inability to close out a tense Game 2 at ANZ Stadium as his reason for why award should have gone to another player.

Laurie William Daley AM (born 20 October 1969) is an Australian professional rugby league football coach and a former player. He represented Australia on 26 occasions and has since been named as

Queensland 16 (Kerrod Walters, Wally Lewis , Michael Hancock tries; Mal Meninga, Gary Belcher goals) New South Wales 12 ( Laurie Daley , Chris Johns tries; Greg Alexander 2 goals). After Queensland had won the 1987 State of Origin series 2-1, a further game was played in Long Beach

Billy Slater et al. posing for the camera © Provided by Perform Media Channels Limited Callers to Daley’s Big Sports Breakfast show accused the judges of a Queensland bias, given Meninga and Lockyer are Maroons greats and have either played with or coached Slater.

Daley denied that claim.

“A lot of time the selectors don’t agree on the same four. I put mine in, Mal puts his in and Lockyer puts his in,” he said.

“We put our votes in at the end of the game and it goes to a guy at the NRL who counts them up and he sends them back to us and tells us who the man-of-the-match and man-of-the-series is.

“That’s the system they have in place. That’s how it operates. I don’t make the rules.

“That’s as easy and as simple as I can explain it.”

Daley said he would be comfortable if the NRL released the judges’ voting tallies to the general public.

Billy Slater man of the series despite missing a game, Maroons losing .
The legendary fullback looked as shocked as anyone when he was announced as the winner of the Wally Lewis Medal.Even Billy Slater looked stunned when he heard the news. Man of the match? That was at least feasable, although Queensland had some good ones at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday night.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks
This is interesting!