Sport State of Origin: Laurie Daley slams critics for reaction to controversial Wally Lewis Medal decision

07:03  12 july  2018
07:03  12 july  2018 Source:

Billy Slater man of the series despite missing a game, Maroons losing

  Billy Slater man of the series despite missing a game, Maroons losing The legendary fullback looked as shocked as anyone when he was announced as the winner of the Wally Lewis Medal.Even Billy Slater looked stunned when he heard the news. Man of the match? That was at least feasable, although Queensland had some good ones at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday night.

8 Wally Lewis Medal . 9 Records. 9.1 Team. The first State of Origin shield, depicting Queensland's Wally Lewis and New South Wales' Brett Kenny. Tamou's selection by New South Wales in 2012 was controversial as he was born in Palmerston North and played for the Junior Kiwis, lived in New

Lewis scored a famous try in the second half of the game played at the SFS, when he went on a 40-metre cross field run to the line where he outpaced a much younger Laurie Daley The Wally Lewis Medal has been awarded to the Queensland player of the series in State of Origin from 1992 to 2003.

Video provided by Wide World of Sports

Laurie Daley probably thought the days of him explaining decisions based around State of Origin were long over.

The former NSW coach, who was at the helm of the Blues from 2013-2017, has spent most of Thursday morning giving reasons as to why Billy Slater won the Wally Lewis Medal for best player of the series.

Due to the Maroons obviously losing the series, the backlash sent Daley and other judges' way (Mal Meninga and Darren Lockyer) for that decision is becoming increasingly more aggressive.

Slater outpolled for Origin medal: Lockyer

  Slater outpolled for Origin medal: Lockyer Queensland champion Billy Slater has become the first player to claim the Wally Lewis medal from the losing side of a State of Origin series.Kangaroos selector Darren Lockyer has defended the decision to crown Billy Slater the best player of this year's State of Origin series despite playing in just two of the three matches.

New South Wales will be coached by former Canberra, NSW and Australia captain Laurie Daley , who took over from yet another former Canberra, NSW and Australia teammate Ricky Stuart who moved on from State of Cameron Smith won the Wally Lewis Medal for being the best player in the series.

Three controversial moments decided the State of Origin series win for NSW. No risk.' before a decision had been made. 'I expected a Queenslander to go in the sin bin,' Maroons legend Wally Lewis said.

Daley has now fired back at those critics, slamming those who are attacking his 'integrity'.

“One thing I do know, and Mal Meninga knows, and Darren Lockyer knows — don’t ever question my integrity, don’t ever question (why) I’m voting because of whatever reason,” Daley said on Big Sports Breakfast.

“I always vote because I believe they’re the man of the match.

a man looking at the camera © Provided by Perform Media Channels Limited “I can understand why people are disappointed and blowing up this morning over Billy Slater receiving the Wally Lewis Medal.

“He’s been very good in games two and three and I believe he is the player of the series.

“I can understand the frustration from NSW supporters because we want a NSW player to win.

“But that’s why rugby league is so good, it’s all about opinions and it’s all about following and supporting your team. Some people thought Damien Cook could have been player of the series, some people thought James Tedesco could have been player of the series.

“It’s opinion-based and everyone has their opinion about who should be player of the series.

“I’m happy with my selections.”

Awards in rugby league: There has to be a better way .
<p>What has been highlighted since then is something many fans have known for some time – we need a better system for determining how these Medals are awarded.</p>I, of course, take notice of who is awarded the Dally M, the Clive Churchill and the Wally Lewis Medals, but how these awards are determined has never been a topic that I’ve been that interested in discussing.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks
This is interesting!