Australia First Greens MP takes seat in Queensland Parliament

09:46  13 february  2018
09:46  13 february  2018 Source:

Shifting senators confirm new allegiances

  Shifting senators confirm new allegiances Senators Fraser Anning and Lucy Gichuhi have confirmed their moves to become an independent and a Liberal respectively.Senator Anning filled the vacancy left by former Queensland MP Malcolm Roberts after he fell victim to the citizenship fiasco, but sensationally split with Pauline Hanson's party when he was sworn in last year.

Queensland Parliament . I am looking for Advanced Search. Take a behind-the-scenes tour, enjoy free entertainment on the Speaker's Green and children's activities. Read more.

The Parliament of Queensland is the legislature of Queensland , Australia. According to the state's constitution, the Parliament consists of the Queen and the Legislative Assembly.

Michael Berkman, has taken his seat in Queensland's parliament, becoming the first elected Greens MP in the state's history. 

Mr Berkman, who upset the LNP's Scott Emerson in November's election, stopped to talk with protesters on his way into parliament. 

"In amongst all the pomp and ceremony, to have this kind of community engagement out here is just phenomenal," Mr Berkman said. 

"I'm going to go in the building, and provide a voice for everyone who's been shut out of politics for so many years."

Eight, not 15, NGR trains ready for Games

  Eight, not 15, NGR trains ready for Games Only eight of the New Generation Rollingstock trains will be ready in time for the Commonwealth Games, despite a report advising 18 were needed.The transport plan for the April 4 to 15 sporting event on the Gold Coast was released on Sunday, with Queensland Rail's southeast network significantly altered to make up for the demand.

Queensland Greens Parliamentary leader Michael Berkman MP Convenor Penny Allman-Payne Founded 1991 1.2 Parliament of Queensland . 1.3 Local government areas. 2 Structure. Sri is the first Greens candidate to win a seat in local government anywhere in Queensland .[15].

The 2017 Queensland state election was held on 25 November 2017 to elect all 93 members of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland , the unicameral Parliament of Queensland . The first -term incumbent Labor government, led by Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk

The Greens recorded 10% of the vote in an election dominated by Adani's proposed Carmichael coal mine in the Galilee Basin. 

Mr Berkman joins a crossbench that includes three MPs from Katter's Australia Party, One Nation's Steve Andrew and Independent MP Sandy Bolton.

Former Treasurer Curtis Pitt was elected Speaker. 

Mr Berkman's swearing-in means the Greens now have at least one MP in each State Parliament as well as the federal House of Representatives and Senate.   

Labor,Greens argue over Batman preferences .
Nominations for the federal Batman by-election have closed but a preferences slanging match between Labor and the Greens rolls on.Both parties have accused the other of discussing a preference deal with Cory Bernardi's Australian Conservatives party, after the senator tweeted the Greens had contacted him.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!